Oats Dosa

Hello everybody!! I am back again after a long hiatus and this time I am really hoping to be regular đŸ™‚

Here is a recipe of healthy oats dosa. I had a big tin of old fashioned Quaker oats which I had bought to make breakfast porridge, but nobody likes porridge. I didn’t want to waste the oats and the idea of oats dosa thus struck upon me. I did a little reading on other food blogs and decided to try them out.

These dosas come out perfect without getting stuck to the griddle and get cooked faster than regular dosas. Needless to say they are tastier and very filling too.

There is no restriction on the type of oats you use, however I would discourage flavored oats (unless you want to make flavored pancakes).

I served it with tomato pickle and peanut chutney for sides.

Try it and let me know your feedback.
image

Ingredients

1 cup raw rice,

1 cup urad dal,

3 cups oats,

Salt to taste,

Oil to make dosas,

Water to soak the ingredients

Method

Soak rice and urad dal for approx 5 hours and soak oats for around 2 hours.

Grind soaked rice, urad dal, oats to a smooth paste with little water. The dosa batter consistency will be little  thinner than the normal dosa batter.

Add salt and allow it to ferment overnight.

Smear some oil on a hot griddle and make thin dosas. Flip and cook on the other side too.

Serve with any side dishes of your choice.

Leave a comment