Nippattu / Rice flour fritters

I had seen this recipe floating on most of the blogs during Diwali and I made a few at that time. That lot got over pretty soon so thought of making it some time again but somehow was not finding time. This time when my parents visited me I made it with the help of my mom. Milo had got different shapes of cookie cutters for me and I chose the star as it was Christmas time when I made them. We all liked them and I also sent a small batch for my sister Shilpa who lives in Goa. They taste good with hot evening tea and you cannot stop eating just one. The original name of this fritters is Thattai or Nippattu but at my place we call them stars.  Now off to the recipe…

Ingredients-

3.5 cups rice flour (I used store brought rice flour),

½ cup urad dal,

1 tbsp soaked chana dal,

10 to 15 flakes of garlic,

10 to 15 curry leaves,

3 tsp red chili powder,

2 tsp ghee/butter,

Salt to taste,

Water,

Oil to deep fry

Method-

Dry roast urad dal and grind to a fine powder.

Mix this powder with the rice flower, red chili powder and salt.

Crush garlic with a pestle and tear curry leaves into 3 to 4 pieces with hand.

Mix garlic, curry leaves, chana dal and ghee with the above rice urad dal powder mix and knead to make smooth dough with little water.

Take a portion of this dough and place it on a plastic sheet. Place another plastic sheet on the top and roll the dough evenly with a rolling pin.

Cut out into different shapes and prick with a fork to avoid fluffing up when frying.

Deep fry in hot oil till crispy.

One thought on “Nippattu / Rice flour fritters

Leave a Reply

