Rava/Semolina Cake (Eggless)

I had tasted this cake long time back and I wanted to make it, but didn’t have an oven. So I surfed a lot about making cakes in a pressure cooker but I never had the guts to try it in the fear of burning the cooker. So now since I have an oven I decided to make it. I got this recipe from a blog. Almost every blog has a recipe for this, so I don’t remember which one I followed. I also reduced the ghee/butter quantity in this.

Ingredients-

2.25 cups fine rava or semolina,

2 cup milk,

1.5 cup sugar,

2 cup yogurt,

1 tbsp ghee,

1/8 tsp cardamom powder,

3/4th tsp baking soda,

Few pieces of broken cashews,

1/4th tsp salt

Method-

Beat the yogurt and sugar together till the sugar is dissolved.

To this add the milk, salt, ghee, baking soda, rava and beat this together.

Keep this mixture aside for 6 to 7 hours.

Grease a baking pan with butter and transfer the contents to it.

Garnish with cashew pieces.

Preheat the oven and bake if for 20-30 minutes at 175 degree C.

Use a knife and pierce the center of the cake with it.

If it comes out clean then the cake is ready. Let it cool and they invert the pan to remove it.

2 thoughts on “Rava/Semolina Cake (Eggless)

  1. hi Varsha,
    This cake looks awesome ! I tried the same at home. Texture wise it came out just perfect, however it turned out too sour. Just kept the mixture for 4-5 hours before baking. Could you please guide on what must have gone wrong. Was the yogurt too sour ?

  2. Hi Poonam,
    I made this twice but it never turned sour. Most probably the yogurt you used was sour. Next time try with fresh mild yogurt. Better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

